The Washington Area Tougaloo Alimni Chapter - WATAC


The Washington Area Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (WATAC) is comprised primarily of Tougaloo alums and supporters from the Washington, DC, Maryland, Virginia and surrounding areas. Many devoted members who have lived in the area and have now moved to other areas continue their WATAC membership. We enthusiastically and creatively strategize to support Tougaloo College, its students, staff and alums with diverse projects, partnerships, activities and efforts.


Kathy Y. Mosley

Vice President
Patricia A. Cole

Riley Hamilton

Assistant Treasurer
Herbert Gilbert

Recording Secretary
Vernessa Alexander

Assistant Recording Secretary
Doris Browne

Corresponding Secretary
John S. Page

Business Manager
Edward Trussell Lewis, Jr.


Gregory Johnson



Christmas Holiday Affair
Ollie LaRue & Amanda Mims

Shetee Williams

Mississippi on the Potomac (MOTP)
Kathy Mosley

John Rosenthall & Regina Drake

MOTP Silent Auction
Norma Dorsey & Sandra Peaches

Recruitment and College Fairs Amanda Mims & Allison Brazell

Patricia A. Cole

TCNAA Representative to College Board
Shirlethia Franklin

TCNAA Regional Representatives
Cornell Lynch
John S. Page
John Purnell
John Rosenthall

TJAM (Tougaloo*JSU*Alcorn*MVSU)
Patricia Cole & Herbert Gilbert

Washington Inter Alumni Council – UNCF
Kathy Mosley & Beverly Cole

Washington DC HBCU Alliance
Herbert Gilbert & Patricia Cole

WATAC Golf-A-Thon
John Rosenthall


1991  – TCNAA 3rd Place Award for Appreciation of Support

TCNAA Chapter of the Year for Highest Percent of Alumni Giving – 1993

TCNAA Chapter of the Year 1996-1997 & 1997-1998

Chapter Ranked Second in Fundraising for the college in 1999

1999-2000 TCNAA Alumnus of the Year Award (Edward T. Lewis ’69)

Doris Browne – February 2000 was elected to the Tougaloo College Board of Trustees and February 2006 was elected Vice Chair

Kathy Y. Mosley – Vice-Chairperson of the TCNAA Board of Directors for two terms from 2000 – 2006

Edward Trussell Lewis – TCNAA Vice-President form 2000 – 2003.

Kathy Y. Mosley – Vice-Chairperson of the Washington Inter Alumni Council (WIAC) from 2000 – 2002

November 2001 – Approved as an exempt charitable organization with 501 (c) (3) status under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986

The Corneal A. Davis Award recipient for chapter members donating the highest amount to the Tougaloo College 2001 – 2002 & 2006 -2007 Annual Fund

Lovie Jackson – October 2003 was elected to the Board of Trustees

Julia A. Bender Award recipient for highest percentage of chapter members donating to the College 2003 – 2004 Annual Fund

Kathy Y. Mosley – Vice-Chairperson of the WIAC’s  Martin Luther King Celebration in 2003; Chairperson of the MLK Celebration in 2005.

15 WATAC Members inducted into the National Alumni Association’s  Hall of Fame 

TCNAA Subscription Life Memberships include 12 WATAC Members and Life Memberships include 28 WATAC Members

Edward Trussell Lewis, Jr. elected Chairman of the TCNAA Board of Directors for two terms 2007 – 2012

Kathy Y. Mosley ’72 recipient of the 2007-2008  TCNAA Alumnus of the Year Award

Chazeman S. Jackson elected TCNAA Vice-President  for two terms 2007 – 2012

WATAC receives the TCNAA 2009 Walter Washington honorable mention for 2nd place and first place in 2010 and 2011

Patricia A. Cole recipient of the 2011-2012 Alumnus of the Year Award

Hope E. Goins recipient of the 2017-2018 Alumnus of the Year Award

Make the Donation

Select the icon

For Pledges

No further action is necessary.  You will receive an email with the link to submit your donation after the conclusion of the Golf-A-Thon. Click Here to return to the Golf-A-Thon home page  or dismiss (X) this page.